pumpkin squares with maple/pecan cream cheese frosting • not winning

sweet-lab.com

I should’ve not walked into that tiny kitchen of mine today. No, today I should’ve taken it easy. Today was a perfect day for a peaceful walk through the neighborhood, or a an ideal day to start a new novel. A perfect day to basically stay away from trouble or multi-stepped activities. I should’ve seen the signs and been able to take a hint. I mean, I put my bed sheets on inside out earlier.

After the baking-failing episode, I unintentionally put my t-shirt on backwards as well.

Really? Really.

Such lousy posture by the way…How sad. So today is what I unwillingly call “backwards day”. You know, when something is missing within you and you for sure feel it but proceed to mess things up anyways.

sweet-lab.com

So I was not winning as a totally capable person and that translated into my final product in the kitchen today. Such disorder! I’m so disappointed on how this experiment turned out and not because of the taste of the final outcome (it actually tasted very pleasant), but because my expectations weren’t met. To let you on a little secret…I was really aiming to create a pumpkin roll with maple/pecan filling.

Oops!

When I tried to roll the thin roulade into a roll, it completely fell apart. Something went wrong and I think I know what it was. The consistency of this sponge cake wasn’t quite on point and not as airy and porous as I was aiming for. I’m going to try to fix this recipe I developed and make it work next time, okay?

It’s alright though. To me sweet-lab is like a test kitchen. Some recipes will turn out great, and others not so much. But we learn from our mistakes don’t we?

sweet-lab.com

And by the way…what to do with something that is not to your standards? Try to make the best of it and save what you can. Even if the pumpkin roll ceased to exist, the destroyed and wrecked layer of cake made for some yummy yum yumms either way. I simply cut up the roulade and made some sweet and tasty squares out of the cake. I have to admit that some of the cake did end up in the trash, but I think that was out of plain frustration. My frustration level did however dwindle when I took a bite of this tasty dessert.

I’ll be back with the revised pumpkin roll recipe. As for now, I encourage you to try this modified and tasteful recipe for pumpkin squares with maple/pecan filling.

sweet-lab.com

Ingredients and for Pumpkin Roulade:

 8 oz eggs (4 oz yolks, 4 oz whites)

8 oz sugar, divided into 4.5 oz and 3.5 oz

8 oz cake flour

½ tsp salt

½ tsp cinnamon

¼ tsp all spice

½ tsp vanilla

6 oz pumpkin puree

10x sugar for finish

Procedure/Recipe for Pumpkin Roulade:

1. Separate egg whites and yolks and place each one in separate mixing bowls.

2. Mix 4.5 oz of sugar with the yolks in a mixer at high speed for 5-7 minutes, until mixture is thick and pale yellow in color.

3. Meanwhile, prepare a 15.25″ x 10.25″ x 7.5″ sheet tray by brushing a large “X” with Crisco or butter on the center. Place a piece of parchment paper on sheet tray and grease its edges. Set aside for later use.

4. Whip whites to a soft peak meringue by adding the 3.5 oz of sugar to whites a little bit at a time until  a soft peak slumps down on whisk.

5. Fold half of the soft peak meringue into yolk mixture.

6. Fold meringue/yolk mixture into reserved meringue.

7. Sift cake flour, salt, cinnamon, and all spice over yolk/meringue mixture and fold until flour is fully incorporated into mixture.

8. Pour batter into greased tray and spread batter all the way to corners with an offset spatula. Use offset spatula to flatten out and flush batter all the way to edges and corners. Run your thumb along edges of tray to remove cake batter from edges to minimize crispy edges during baking.

9. Bake at 375 F – 400 F for 8 – 10 minutes, until cake bounces back, it detaches itself from edges, and it develops a nice golden color.

10. Remove cake from sheet tray immediately after baking and leave parchment paper on. Allow cake to cool completely before use.

11. Spread the pecan & maple cream cheese frosting over roulade. Create mini sandwiches with the roulade and filling if desired. Dust with 10x sugar.

Ingredients and Maple & Pecan Cream Cheese Frosting:

 8 oz cream cheese

1/2 tsp vanilla

2 1/2 tsp maple syrup

1 C 10z sugar

3/4 C pecans, toasted and finely chopped

1. Beat the cream cheese, maple syrup, and vanilla until light and fluffy.

2. Add the sugar and beat until smooth. Fold in the chopped pecans.

4 thoughts on “pumpkin squares with maple/pecan cream cheese frosting • not winning

    • Thank you! I should’ve just used the recipe I got at school or followed a recipe from the internet. That would’ve made things much easier for sure!! I tend to complicate things at times, but I just really wanted to see if I could create my own recipe and make it successful by basing it solely on ratios. Hopefully it will be better next time!

Leave a Reply

