chocolate ganache cupcakes • booooo to the party pooper

sweet-lab.com

This sweet world I embarked on has been more sour than sweet lately. But I’ve decided that the negative vibes I’ve been getting from, let’s call this person “party pooper”, cannot get me down. But they do, because there has been too much unnecessary derision and tension lately.

sweet-lab.com

The pastry/baking world can be difficult and demanding. However, it does not have to be as harsh, stringent, or as hostile as this particular person has made it out be. To this particular party pooper: I hope that I’m never as discouraging and uninspiring to my “disciple(s)” as you are and have been to me. I wish to encourage them and be strict if and when necessary, but never make them doubt their skills and ability continuously.

sweet-lab.com

Note: It’s acceptable to be stern and bossy when you’re in charge, but not to be a plain sour and unpleasant human being..everrrry single daaaaay. Go fix that; for your own sake and mine. Because you kind of suck.

So I want reassurance. This week I need to comfort and to remind myself that I do love what I do because honestly, you (party pooper) make me doubt it occasionally. Oh yeah, you have that power, but I will fight back until I win this battle.

For the spark of reassurance that I crave, I will create a chocolaty ganache cupcake recipe.

Am I even capable of designing and writing a recipe??? Do I have the acquired skills to make such simple cupcakes??

(See what you’ve done party pooper?)

sweet-lab.com

But yeah….back to much sweeter and nicer topics: chocolate ganache cupcakes. Boooya! Who’s the mean boss now?

sweet-lab.com

Hypothesis:

– Chocolate cake + ganache filling and frosting = very chocolaty cupcakes.

– The sour cream will contribute to a smooth and moist cupcake with a subtle tang.

– The ganache frosting will also contribute the smooth feel and richness of this cupcake.

– Adding sugar in the form of syrup instead of granulated sugar will also add moistness.

sweet-lab.com

**Yield: About 15 cupcakes**

Ingredients for Chocolate Cupcakes:

8 oz cake flour

1/4 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

5 oz water

8 oz sugar

1 oz cocoa powder

4 oz eggs

4 oz vegetable oil

4 oz sour cream

1 tsp vanilla

Ingredients for Chocolate Frosting:

8 oz heavy cream

8 oz semisweet chocolate, finely chopped

1 tsp honey

Procedure/Recipe for Chocolate Cupcakes:

1. Sift cake flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt into a large bowl. Set aside.

2. Combine and heat sugar and water in a small saucepan to create a simple syrup. Stir until all sugar has been completely dissolved.

3. Add cocoa powder to simply syrup and whisk until fully incorporated. Allow syrup to completely cool down.

4. Meanwhile, whisk eggs, vegetable oil, sour cream, and vanilla together. Drizzle in simple syrup and continue to whisk until everything is well blended.

5. Combine the wet and dry mixtures together, just enough so that all ingredients are incorporated into the batter. Do not over mix. Allow batter to rest 20-40 minutes.

6. Fill prepared cupcake tins with about 1/4 cup batter. Bake at 375 F for about 15-20 minutes, until a toothpick that is inserted in the center tests clean. Let cupcakes cool in tins, about 5 minutes, then turn them out onto wire racks. Let cool completely before frosting.

Procedure/Recipe for Chocolate Ganache Frosting:

  1. Heat heavy cream and bring to a simmer.
  2. Put chopped chocolate in a large bowl and pour simmered heavy cream over chocolate. Allow cream and chocolate to rest for about a minute so that chocolate softens and melts.
  3. Stir/whisk mixture gently from the center and whisking outwards until everything is well emulsified.
  4. Set chocolate-heavy cream mixture aside and allow it to cool completely at room temperature and it’s a pipeable/spreadable consistency.

Procedure/Recipe for Chocolate Frosting:

1. Place ganache into a piping bag that has a long and thin tip. Poke surface of cupcake and insert tip in center of cupcake. Squeeze until ganache fills the center of cupcake. Repeat procedure with all cupcakes.

2. Change the tip on piping bag to # 3 star tip. Pipe a rosette or other designs onto the surface of cupcakes.

sweet-lab.com

Just have fun!

sweet-lab.com

Finish cupcake with chocolate curls, chocolate shavings, finely chopped nuts, or sprinkles if desired. Can also  serve cupcakes with plain frosting. If using chocolate decor over frosting, it would ideal if the chocolate is tempered. As you can probably tell, the chocolate I used was not in temper because it’s streaky 😦

Observations:

– chocolate delight

– moist and soft cake

– some cupcakes had more frosting than others. The more ganache frosting there is, the richer and chocolatier (is that a word???) the overall experience will be.

Results/Conclusion: Making and tasting these chocolate ganache cupcakes made me forget about the party pooper dilemma…at least for a good while.

13 thoughts on “chocolate ganache cupcakes • booooo to the party pooper

  1. These look delicious! Anyone with the ability to make such incredible looking (and obviously delicious) cupcakes has their life in order! Tell the party pooper to screw off and keep doing what you’re doing. You have a talent and it is a beautifully sweet one.

    xox

  2. Don’t let the negative people get to you. You are obviously a very talented and passionate baker and I can’t wait to explore your blog and recipes more.
    Put a smile on your face and do your best and I am sure you will do amazing things with your life

    • Yes, you are right! I will put a smile on my face! I tend to always have a smile on my face and I hope this entry didn’t make me sound like I’m too much of a sour person. I’ve encountered many bitter people and I’ve learned how to manage them better throughout the years (AKA ignore them) but this one in particular may take the grand prize. Oh well. It’s just a phase…It will be over soon 🙂

  3. You are the one with the power, no-one else has it, only you. These delicious cupcakes, which are perfect imperfections artistically designed and produced (my mouth is drooling just thinking about that recipe…) are the sign you have a talent, not to be wasted. Keep up your strength and face that bully…’cos that’s what she is, and she’s a bully because she is afraid — you have the talent, the gift, the flair, the ability to produce something from thin air — that she can’t do. Cherish it. Your photos, as usual, are superb.

Leave a Reply

