maple pumpkin mini-muffins…and doughnuts • decisions, decisions

sweet-lab

Please excuse me if I sometimes mistake this blog for a diary.

A diary? Yes, a diary. And don’t act like you haven’t done that before.

sweet-lab

So here it goes. I may be the most indecisive person I know. People have called me out on that in the past. People who are close to me actually. “Wow, you’re a pretty indecisive person,” they may suggest…Reaaaaaally? Hmmm…I really didn’t know that and I thank you so very much for pointing that out to me…because really, after twenty-something years of living in this body and having this same brain, I still hadn’t figured that one out on my own. So yes, thank you once again for enlightening me with such an amazing self-discovery.

sweet-lab

In a less sarcastic tone and more of a realistic one, when that occurs I am driven to either congratulate the person for pointing out such a correct character trait and/or to smack them across the face.

Oh my! I’m sorry. Did I say that aloud? I’m really not that violent at all!

sweet-lab

I just bottle up emotions sometimes and consequently rage comes out in peculiar and interesting ways. But that is a different issue. Thankfully I have a diary blog to vent and share recipes while I do so. It’s simply a great deal.

Anyways, I am indecisive sometimes. I know that. I own that.

sweet-lab

sweet-lab

When asked what my favorite color is, I say blue, then choose green, then go back to blue. But now it is all clear. My favorite color is violet. Yes, violet.

sweet-lab

By the way, do adults really still ask each other what their favorite color is? I’m pretty sure that stops happening somewhere in our early teen years, but somehow my mind still ponders the question from time to time. I insist. My favorite color is violet.

sweet-lab

After several years of dealing with such indecision and hesitation, I have diagnosed myself and have come to the conclusion that my indecision is caused by either:

1) a lack of interest or 2) an abundance of interest

Such as….Would you rather buy this carpet with the earthy tones or this other one with the earthy tones? Well, I don’t know. They’re both pretty horrible-looking. I simply can’t decide. Actually, wait. I have made up my mind. I choose neither. Yes, neither because they’re both pretty ugly to tell you my honest opinion.

sweet-lab

Or consider these scenarios for example…Should we go out for dinner or cook something delicious at home? Hmmm…I don’t know. They both seem like favorable options to me. At this precise moment in time, I want to spend sometime in the kitchen boiling pasta until al dente, but I also feel like having that amazing strawberry cobbler from the restaurant around the corner…Give me a second…I might have to make a pros and cons list for each and get back to you with the verdict. Thank you for your time.

Or…Would you rather have a picnic or go on a long walk through D.C. and catch lunch somewhere downtown? Hmmmm…Let me think about this one in the shower. I want both. Can we do both? Well that would suggest eating lunch twice. Okay, just a second…

sweet-lab

And last but not least….I’m going to write a recipe for spicy, sweet, and tasty maple pumpkin mini-muffins…or wait…how about doughnuts? Should I make doughnuts instead? So which one is it? Maple Pumpkin Mini-Muffins or Maple Pumpkin Doughnuts?

Well, how about both?

sweet-lab

Yes, when it seems merely impossible to choose between the two, you can try what I do: take neither or take both!

So thanks to my high level of indecision, here they are: the one(s) and only Maple Pumpkin Mini-Muffins and Maple Pumpkin Doughnuts.

Enjoy your indecision every once in a while.

sweet-lab

**Yield varies depending on how many mini-muffins and baked donuts you want to bake off. My yield was 24 mini-muffins and 5 donuts. Store batter in fridge for 4-5 days or scooped and frozen for up to 30 days. Freeze fully baked for 30 days. Store baked at room temperature for 1 day.**

Ingredients for Maple Pumpkin Mini-Muffins & Doughnuts:

4 oz AP flour

4 oz cake flour

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1 1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp ground cloves

1/4 tsp nutmeg

3/4 tsp ginger

1/2 tsp allspice

2 oz brown sugar

6 1/2 oz pumpkin puree

3 oz milk

4 oz eggs

4 oz vegetable oil

5 oz maple syrup

1 tsp vanilla

Recipe/Procedure for Maple Pumpkin Mini-Muffins & Doughnuts:

1. Sift cake flour, AP flour, salt, baking powder, cinnamon, ground cloves, nutmeg, ginger, and allspice into a large bowl.
2. Add sugar to dry ingredients and mix well to combine.
3. In a different bowl, whisk pumpkin puree, milk, eggs, vegetable oil, vanilla, and maple syrup together.4. Combine the wet and dry mixtures together, just enough so that all ingredients are incorporated into the batter. Do not over mix. Allow batter to rest 20-40 minutes in fridge.5. Grease a mini-muffin pan and a doughnut pan with vegetable oil. Pour flour inside of each tin cup and doughnut well. Move/shake the pan around and from side to side so that the flour sticks to the vegetable oil and each space is covered in flour. This will prevent the batter from sticking to the pan while baking.6. Scoop about 1/8 C of batter into each mini-muffin tin cup so that each cup is about 3/4 full. Repeat procedure and fill the wells of the doughnut pan about 3/4 full.

7. Bake at 375 F for about 7 minutes. Turn pan around and bake for an additional 6-7 minutes or until a toothpick that has been inserted in the center tests clean.

8. Remove the doughnuts and mini-muffins from oven, and cool in pan completely. Loosen their edges with a small offset spatula and transfer them to a rack to cool.

Ingredients for Maple Icing:

1 C (or 4.75 oz) 10x sugar

2 oz maple syrup

about 1/8 C (or 1 oz) water—may adjust by adding a bit more if consistency remains thick for icing

1/4 C roasted salted pumpkin seeds, finely chopped

Recipe/Procedure for Maple Icing:

1. Mix sugar, maple syrup, and water in a small bowl. Whisk mixture until consistency is smooth.

Time to put it all together.

1. Dunk mini-muffins and doughnuts facedown into the icing so that the top of each is covered in icing. Remove excess icing by moving the mini-muffin or doughnut in a circular motion and wait for some of the icing to drip back into the bowl.

2. Place mini-muffins and doughnuts in a cooling rack or serving plate and wait for the icing to set for 2-3 minutes.

3. Sprinkle a pinch of finely chopped pumpkin seeds over icing. Allow the icing to continue to fully set.

Enjoy both!

sweet-lab

 

 

8 thoughts on “maple pumpkin mini-muffins…and doughnuts • decisions, decisions

  1. Love all your recipes.
    Need to get myself measuring tools with oz, cos all mine are in grams.
    And now I know your donuts are baked, Healthy alternatives.

  2. Reading your post put a big smile on my face. So I am not alone!
    I think you put it perfectly! it is either due to lack of interest or too much interest. I too get lost weighing pros and cons and can take forever to decide.
    and oh I HATE IT when someone starts diagnosing my faults.
    Making these muffins and donuts doesn’t require any thinking..they both look like amazing treats

    • No, you are not alone! And I’m so glad that I’m not alone either 🙂 I’m very glad that reading this post put a big smile on your face. Knowing that put a big fat smile on mine!

Leave a Reply

